What on earth is that noise?

I recently had the pleasure of staying for a long weekend in a beach-side house at Pett Level in East Sussex. We have been visiting the area for many years, and are always entranced by it’s beauty and barrenness.

26

Whilst staying on a beach front was exciting, I was amazed by the high levels of noise, during what was probably the least busy time of the year. I know I shouldn’t have been surprised, but I was.

17

The more I thought about it, the more I realised that it’s probably no noisier than where I live on the edge of London, not far from the Central Line. The problem is that the noises are different and any noise besides the sea seems to resonate.

Acoustics is a fascinating subject. So I am excited that the Herman Miller Insight Group will be hosting 2 talks in London about a subject called Psychoacoustics. These will take place in March and April, and the speakers will be Nigel Oseland and Paige Hodsman. You can register for the event here. https://www.eventbrite.com/e/psychoacoustics-and-the-workplace-a-guest-seminar-tickets-20033273059

untitled1-1

 

About Mark Catchlove

All views are my own
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

