Something has to change

Something has to change.

It can’t go on like this.

I can’t go on reading of murder, depravity, stabbings, beheadings, hatred, bitterness, dishonesty and fraud without saying something.

The trouble is, I don’t really know what to say. My words are not going to stop it, and I suspect neither will my actions.

However, I am going to try. We need to start somewhere. We have to somehow counterbalance the evil that is so prevalent in society today. I acknowledge that evil has always been there, you only have to look through any uncensored history book to confirm this.

If we can’t easily affect the big things then maybe we can start with the small things. The expressions of gratitude, the willingness to help and support, the decision to look at issues from another angle, those small random acts of kindness.

Let’s stop taking each other for granted and start appreciating one another.

It will take an effort. It may mean taking some time to stop and think. It may mean taking some time out to listen. It may mean changing some plans and rearranging your priorities. It may mean giving without expecting to receive.

Thank you for taking the time to read this.

Something has to change.

It can’t go on like this.

About Mark Catchlove

All views are my own
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Something has to change

  1. markelt says:

    I couldn’t agree more Mark. As I get older I find myself become ever more crusty about the little things such as mutual respect, courtesy, empathy, grace, accountability and personal curiosity. If we can get those right I’m sure the bigger things follow.

  2. Doug Shaw says:

    Thanks for writing this post Mark. At times like this, I like to ask myself: ‘What is the least I can do to today to make a positive impact? Do it.’

  3. Debbie says:

    I think it is time for the church to do some soul searching and serious repentance. There is no earthly way of turning back the tide but if we humble ourselves and pray and seek God’s face He Promises to hear from Heaven, forgive our sins and heal our land

  4. Jacky Hilary says:

    We hear about and – and see – more violence via internet, TV etc. But if you take the long view, human beings are becoming less violent and wars less frequent. Ever the optimist me!

  5. dianablinda says:

    I so agree with you. Thank you for writing this

  6. Jane smith says:

    Thanks Mark. Lovely piece and very true. And also nice to think we can do something even when it seems there are soany problems and they’re all insurmountable.

Leave a Reply

